THERAPIST

“Promise me you’ll find someone who’ll love you like I didI say, emphasising on the last word in the sentence, both for him to know, & for me to keep in mind.

Remember that he broke you” my subconscious says to me as I walk back to the door. “You’re never going to be his only one” it says, as I lock the gate behind him. “He might have been your first love, but to him, you were just another girl” it whispers to me, and my heart crumbles into pieces.

Eleven months have gone by & I still hope that someday he’ll realise that no one will ever love him the way I did.

“But he wants me back.” I try to debate with my subconscious mind. “But what has he done to prove it? What has he offered, other than a few sweet words, stringed together in a perfectly acceptable sentence? Why don’t you realise that it’s time for you to move on?” My subconscious mind screams. “I have! I have moved on! I’ve moved on from the idea that him & I could ever be together! I have moved on from the idea that he could ever love me the way that I love him! But just because I’ve moved on, doesn’t mean that I’ve stopped loving him. I’ll stop loving him the day all hope melts away with his memories. Until then, let his memories be.”

One thought on “THERAPIST

Leave a comment